Board of Directors

The ONC Board of Directors comprises 15 nationally recognized leaders drawn from across Canada and representing the academic, government, and private sectors. Membership is structured to include individuals with extensive experience in ocean issues from key stakeholder communities.

Board Members

Darcy Dobell
Chair, Board of Directors
Founder and Principal Consultant, The Wabe




Rebecca Denlinger
Vice Chair, Board of Directors
Chair, Governance and Human Resources Committee




Dr. Mark Abrahams
Dean of Science & Professor - Department of Biology / Ocean Sciences Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada




Randy Bundus
Business Consultant - R.J. Bundus Consulting





Jim Ghadbane
President & CEO - CANARIE





Gayle Gorrill
Vice-President Finance & Operations, University of Victoria





Ismail Hameduddin
Nexus Law Group





Lisa Kalynchuk
Vice-President of Research, University of Victoria





Susan Kennedy
Chair, Finance and Audit Committee
Vice President, Corporate Services, C-CORE Inc




Don Krusel
Former President and CEO, Prince Rupert Port Authority






Kate Moran
President & CEO, Ocean Networks Canada





Lyne Morissette
President & CEO, M - Expertise Marine





Alan Winter
Chair, Strategy & Partnerships Committee
President, Winteck Consulting Inc.





Fabian Wolk
​President, Rockland Scientific Inc.

Board Liaisons

John Farrell
Executive Director, US Arctic Research Commission





Kevin Jardine
Deputy Minister of Environment and Climate Change Strategy





Peter Loock
Dean of Science, University of Victoria





Geoffrey Munro
Owner, Trestle Networks Inc.





International Science Advisory Board

Ocean Networks Canada has added further to its international strength and links by the appointment of an International Science Advisory Board made up of highly respected senior ocean scientists. The Board met for the first time in June 2011 and meets twice a year. The Board's mandate is to provide strategic advice and guidance to help ensure that Ocean Networks Canada achieves its research vision, mission and goals in the context of international developments in ocean research.

International Science Advisory Board Members

  • Philippe Archambault, Professor, Laval University
  • Jack Barth, Executive Director, Marine Studies Initiative, Oregon State University
  • Antje Boetius, Director, Biosciences/Deep sea Ecology and Technology, Alfred-Wegener-Institut, Germany
  • Mathilde Cannat, Globe de Paris Institute of Physics
  • Steven D’Hondt, Graduate School of Oceanography, University of Rhode Island  
  • Emilio Mayorga, Oceanographer and Data Manager, Applied Physics Laboratory, University of Washington
  • Marit Reigstag, Professor in Marine Ecology, UiT The Arctic University of Norway
  • Huaiyang Zhou, Professor, School of Ocean and Earth Science, Tongji University